Busy Weekend Provincial Competitions Crowns Numerous Champions

August 15, 2017Triathlon Ontario, the recognized Provincial Governing Body of Multisport in Ontario, reported on the results of multiple Provincial competitions held over the past weekend.

Saturday and Sunday was one of the busiest multisport weekends of the year where nearly 2,200 athletes participated in various types of sanctioned events across the province. The events included Triathlon Ontario’s own draft legal Provincial Championships, Element Racing’s Cross Triathlon Provincial Championship, MultiSport Canada’s Bracebridge event, host to our ‘Du-the Double” Duathlon Challenge and a Duathlon National Qualifier, Subaru Series’ sold out Iron Girl, the largest women’s event in Ontario and the long standing grass roots event, the Barrie Triathlon.

In Welland at the draft legal Provincial Championships, the day started off with the second last stop in the U15 Youth Cup Series. Ian Young earned his first victory and the Series’ most valuable points as Provincial Champion. Garret Mason had his best Series result to take second place and Mr. Consistency , Jacob Chant, took third place. Chant leads the Series with 89 points ahead of a three way tie for second that includes Young, Mason and Aiden MacKenzie.

On the girl’s side, newcomer to the Series, Kira Gupta-Baltazar, took the provincial crown while Isabella Mastroianni took silver and Meg Wheeler bronze. The leaders of the Series include Cassie Greer in first with 83 points, Emily Dodge in second with 74 points and Madeline Ongena in a close third with 73 points.

Updated Series standings can be found here.

This was the final race in the best two-of-three Junior Cup Series. Liam Donnelly put in the fastest run of the day to take home the title and the Cup trophy as he earned Series maximum points (55). First year junior, Tristen Jones, came across the line in second place which was good for third overall in the Series at 43 points. Justin De Jong was third on the day, good enough for second place in the Series at 49 points.

In the women’s event it turned out to be a foot race between Cassandra Dalbec, Ella Kubas and Teagan Shapansky, as all three women came off the bike together. Kubas went for the early break but Dalbec was able to track her down and eventually over take her for the win, which equated to the Cup trophy with maximum point total of 55. Kubas came across the line next for silver, which was good for third overall with 45. Shapansky’s third place earned her second overall in the Series with 49 points.

Final Series standings can be found here.

With Series leaders Michael Lori and Taylor Forbes away competing at a World Cup, it meant that Lori had locked up the title and the $500 cash prize as Forbes was the only person mathematically able to beat Lori. Myles Zagar lead once again from the water as is customary, and then put in a strong run to take the Provincial title and earn second place in the Series and $300. Up and coming long course star Jackson Laundry, showed he still has some speed at the short course by taking second and Patrick Smith came across in third. Francis Lefebvre earned third place in the Series and $200.

Elise Bolger put in a stellar swim to lead out of T1 but had a couple of crashes on the bike on the wet roads that took her out of the lead pack. The women’s race turned into a three way battle between Danae Morris, Samantha Klus and Maddy Kennedy, with the podium ending up in that order. The win for Morris meant a first place Series tie, a first for the Cup Series, between Morris and Klus. As per the tie break policy, Morris will take home the first place prize of $500.

Final Series standings can be found here.

Age Group
Ben Rudson used a breakaway on the last lap of the bike to gap the field and never look back to win the title over the ageless wonder, Andrew Taylor and David Mackie.

On the women’s side, Erin Laughlin ran away from second place Liz Capicik to win the Provincial title, Joanna Jackson rounded out the podium.

New this year was the team event. A team consisting of three or four members could compete together with the only the top three times counting toward a total. In its first year, the competition had five men’s teams and three women’s teams. Congrats to Teams LPC Alpha and Don’t Get Lapped! for their wins.

Cross Provincials
Congrats to defending champion Heather Pady and Luke Ehgoetz for their Provincial Championship titles in Cross Triathlon.

About Triathlon Ontario
Triathlon Ontario is a non-profit organization that is the recognized Provincial Governing Body for Multisport in the province of Ontario. Our mission is to provide leadership and governance for the development of a safe and fair environment for Multisport in Ontario. Triathlon Ontario oversees the sanctioning of races and clubs and undertakes a number of duties and responsibilities on behalf of athletes at every level, coaches, clubs, officials and race directors to ensure the growth and development of the sport in a fun and safe way. Visit Triathlon Ontario.com for the latest triathlon news, events, camps, and clinics.

Follow us on Twitter: @TriOntario
Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TriathlonOntario